IPL captaincy record: MS Dhoni (CSK) vs Rohit Sharma (MI)

Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians and MS Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings have been the most successful captains in IPL history. Both the players have won the title many times for their teams under their leadership. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians have won the title 5 times, while under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, Chennai has become the champion thrice. If we talk about the IPL records of both the captains, then they have also been excellent.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

From 2008 till now, MS Dhoni has captained Chennai Super Kings in every single season. Under his leadership, the team has become champion thrice, while also being runner-up 5 times. MS Dhoni has captained Chennai in 195 matches, in which the team has won 115 matches and lost 79 matches. His win percentage during this period has been 59.27. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, Chennai last won the title in the year 2018. After that, the team’s performance was not good for two years but in IPL 2021, Chennai is in tremendous form once again and with 5 wins in 7 matches, they are second in the points table.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL history, under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai are the winners and have captured the title from the last two IPLs. Apart from this, Mumbai has won 5 titles under his leadership. Rohit Sharma has captained 123 matches for Mumbai, in which he has won 72 matches and lost 47. His win percentage during this period has been 60.16.

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni have played against each other in the final 4 times, with Rohit Sharma winning each time. Under Rohit’s captaincy, Mumbai has defeated Chennai in the final 3 times, while beating Rising Pune Supergiants and Delhi Capitals 1-1 times.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *