Press "Enter" to skip to content

MI vs SRH: The record five-time champion team will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in the next match of IPL-2021

Last updated on Tuesday, 5:53 AM | May 4, 2021

With two consecutive wins in the current season of the Indian Premier League (IPL-2021), defending champions Mumbai Indians will clash with the last-placed Sunrisers Hyderabad team on Tuesday.

The match will be played at the Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium in Delhi, in which the Mumbai team seems to be a strong contender for victory. Rohit Sharma’s captaincy team Mumbai defeated the in-form Chennai Super Kings by four wickets thanks to stormy innings by Pollard in their last match.

On the other hand, the Sunrisers suffered a humiliating 55-run defeat against the Rajasthan Royals, which was the team’s sixth defeat in seven matches in the current season. The Hyderabad team is currently going through a phase of change, in which David Warner, who is battling poor form, has been handed over the captaincy to Kane Williamson.

Mumbai opener and captain Rohit Sharma (250 runs) and Quinton Dickock (155 runs) would like to once again give a good start to the five-time champion team and turn a good start into big innings.

Mumbai’s aggressive middle order has been successful in the last two matches, which is a relief for the team management. Pollard (168 runs), who played an unbeaten 87-ball 87-run match-winning innings against Chennai, will look to maintain this form. Krunal Pandya (100 runs), Hardik Pandya (52 runs) and Suryakumar Yadav (173 runs) are capable of demolishing the opposing team and will try to perform in unison.

It will also have to be seen whether the Mumbai team gives a chance to one of Ishaan Kishan and Jayant Yadav in place of James Neesham. Neesham has neither played a big innings nor been able to get wickets, although the Mumbai bowlers will have to forget the poor performance against Chennai and start afresh.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah (six wickets) and Trent Boult (eight wickets) have bowled brilliantly in the death overs and can upset the Sunrisers batsmen. Leg-spinner Rahul Chahar (11 wickets) is Mumbai’s most successful bowler but needs support from Krunal who has managed to take just three wickets. Pollard also took two important wickets in the last match and can play the role of fifth or sixth bowler.

Despite changing the captain, the Sunrisers are not taking the name of the problems being reduced. The team is heavily reliant on its top order, especially Johnny Bairstow (248 runs) but the middle order has disappointed the team on most occasions.

Against Rajasthan Royals, the team made the opening innings with Manish Pandey and Bairstow out of Warner, while Williamson came in at number three. If the team maintains the same order, then all three will have to score big on most occasions.

Vijay Shankar (58 runs), Kedar Jadhav (40 runs), Abdul Samad (36 runs) and Mohammad Nabi (31 runs) will also have to contribute better with the bat. Star leg spinner Rashid Khan is the team’s most successful bowler with 10 wickets but fast bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar (three wickets) and Khalil Ahmed (four wickets) have not lived up to expectations. It has to be seen whether Sandeep Sharma gets a chance again or whether Siddharth Kaul is included in the team.

Expected Playing – XI

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Johnny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, David Warner, Kane Williamson (captain), Abdul Samad, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Khalil Ahmed

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Kairan Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jimmy Neesham, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaspreet Bumrah, and Trent Boult.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *