Five records made in Shreyas Iyer’s century

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer will be remembered in India vs New Zealand 2021 Kanpur Test. Shreyas Iyer, playing the first match for India, handled the disintegrating team India and scored a century in the Test match. This century becomes even more special because this century has come in the first innings of the first test match.

The Indian team was batting first after winning the toss in the test match. Four wickets fell on the first day but India was made 258 runs. Shreyas Iyer stood at one end after scoring 75 runs. On the second day, he batted brilliantly and completed his century in 157 balls. After this century, many records are being told about Iyer.

Let us tell you in this news what some amazing records and stats were seen in Shreyas Iyer’s century innings.

Shreyas Iyer has scored a century for Team India in the first Test match of his career. With this, he has joined the list of players who scored a century in the first match as soon as they came. Before Iyer, 15 players have done this feat. In which Lala Amarnath, Deepak Shodhan, AG Kripal Singh, Abbas Ali Baig, Hanumant Singh, Gundappa Vishwanath, Surinder Amarnath, Mohammad Azharuddin, Praveen Amre, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and Prithvi Shaw are included.

After 45 years, an Indian cricketer has scored a century in his debut innings against New Zealand. Before Shreyas Iyer, this feat was done by Kirpal Singh in 1955 and Surinder Amarnath in 1976. Iyer scored a total of 105 runs in the innings played against New Zealand and on the first day of the Test, he contributed significantly in saving the Indian innings from collapse.

So 16 Indian players have scored a century in the debut test. But only 13 Indians have a century in the first innings as soon as they land on the field. Shreyas Iyer has also joined that list by scoring a century against New Zealand. Before him, the record of scoring a century in the first innings is the names of Kirpal Singh, Surinder Amarnath, Deepak Shodhan, Hanumant Singh, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sourav Ganguly, Praveen Amre, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and Prithvi Shaw.

In all, 16 Indians have made a story with a debut century. But there were six players who got a chance to score a century while debuting abroad. At the same time, there were 10 players who got a chance to complete the century in front of the domestic fans. After the century in Kanpur, Iyer has become the 10th player to start his career with a century at home. Before him, Lala Amarnath, Deepak Shodhan, Kripal Singh, Hanumant Singh, Gundappa Vishwanath, Mohammad Azharuddin, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and Prithvi Shaw have done this work.

This is the first time after 1969 when a boy playing the first match in Kanpur scored a century. Shreyas Iyer became the second player on this list as soon as he scored a century in the Kanpur Test. Gundappa Vishwanath had done this work before him. Gundappa Vishwanath also made his debut in Kanpur. And against Australia on the ground of Kanpur, he played an innings of 137 runs, scoring the first century of his career.

After so many things related to Shreyas’s record, let us tell you that the Indian team has scored 345 runs in the first innings. On the second day, the Indian team was able to add only 87 runs to its first day’s score. Earlier, on the first day, Team India had scored 258 runs for the loss of four wickets.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *