Press "Enter" to skip to content

England and Wales Cricket Board has announced a 13-man squad for the first Test

England vs West Indies: The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced a 13-man squad for the first Test against the West Indies from 8 July. The team will be led by all-rounder Ben Stokes.

The ones who will replace Root. Apart from this, the England Board has removed veteran allrounder Moeen Ali and wicketkeeper-batsman Johnny Bairstow from the team. The first Test between England and West Indies will be played at Southampton.

The board has retained all the players in the team who toured South Africa earlier this year. Joe Denly has managed to save his place in the team. The main concern for the selectors was how to fix the bowling offensive.

For this, the return of experienced bowler James Andernas in the team. Mark Wood and Joffra Archer did well in the warm-up match. Both be successful in making a place in the team. He will also be accompanied by Stuart Broad and Chris Woakes.

Left-arm fast bowler Sam Karan has been placed in the list of reserve players. He became ill last week. After this, his Kovid-19 test was done. They were found to be negative. There was talk of Bairstow being replaced by Joe Root in the team, but that did not happen. Root will not play in the first Test.

His wife is about to give birth to a child. Bairstow played only 11 and 39 in the warm-up match. Dan Lawrence and James Bracey have been named in the squad as reserve batsmen.

Dom Bess has been retained in the team as a spinner. This did not include Jack Licht in the 13-man squad. They are in the list of 9 reserve players. Bess took three wickets in the warm-up match.

England team for the first test: Ben Stokes (captain, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jose Butler, Jack Crowley, Joe Denley, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Reserve players: James Bracey, Sam Karan, Ben Fox, Dan Lawrence, Jack Licht, Saqib Mehmood, Craig Overton, Ollie Robinson, Ollie Stone.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *