Four countries supported the decision of the organizers of Wimbledon to remove the Russians

MOSCOW, 26 April – The Tennis Federations of Norway, Sweden, Iceland and Finland supported the decision of the organizers of the Wimbledon tournament to remove Russians and Belarusians from competitions, according to the official website of the Norwegian Tennis Federation.
Last week, the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC) denied Russian and Belarusian tennis players participation in Wimbledon because of the situation in Ukraine. Also, players from Russia and Belarus were banned from playing at grass tournaments in the UK under the auspices of the Lawn Tennis Association (LTA).
“We, the undersigned federations, support the position we have taken in the LTA and AELTC regarding Russian and Belarusian players competing in the UK,” the federations said in a joint statement.
Earlier, the Corriere della Sera newspaper reported that the head of the Italian National Olympic Committee, Giovanni Malago, and Prime Minister Mario Draghi opposed the admission of Russian tennis players to participate in the Masters series tournament in Rome, which will be held from May 9 to 15.
Russian and Belarusian tennis players are allowed to ATP and WTA tournaments in a neutral status in all countries except the UK.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here