Press "Enter" to skip to content

In the first Test against Pakistan at the Harare Sports Club on Thursday, Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat

For the series opener, the home team gave Test debuts to three players: batsmen Milton Shumba and Roy Kaia, as well as left-arm seamer Richard Ngarava.

Sean Williams, Zimbabwe’s captain, and fellow batsman Craig Ervine are both injured. Brendan Taylor, a former captain, will serve as interim captain.

Sajid Khan, a bowling all-rounder, made his debut for Pakistan.

After winning one-day international and Twenty20 series in South Africa and a T20 series in Zimbabwe on this southern Africa tour, the tourists are hoping to translate their recent limited-overs style into the longer format.

Zimbabwe’s last Test series against Afghanistan ended in a draw, but the country hasn’t won a series since 2011. Pakistan is coming off a 2-0 series victory over South Africa at home in February.

Both Team Players 11

Pakistan: Imran Butt, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (captain), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Faheem Ashraf, Noman Ali, Hasan Ali, Sajid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Zimbabwe: Prince Masvaure, Kevin Kasuza, Tarisai Musakanda, Brendan Taylor (captain), Milton Shumba, Roy Kaia, Regis Chakabva, Donald Tiripano, Tendai Chisoro, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *