Press "Enter" to skip to content
MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni’s reign ended in IPL, Chennai Super Kings out of playoff race for the first time

There are 8 teams participating in the Indian Premier League, but in this tournament, there was a team in which every team’s fan bowed. This team was guaranteed until it reached the playoffs. It was said that there is no competition between teams of 8 but 7 to play in the IPL playoffs because the entry of Chennai Super Kings is confirmed in it. But everything changed in IPL 2020.

The time of MS Dhoni’s team has changed, the results have changed and the record that has changed since 2008 was a medal on the chest of every player of the Chennai Super Kings team. As soon as the Rajasthan Royals beat the Mumbai Indians on Sunday, Chennai Super Kings were eliminated from the IPL playoff race for the first time. Dhoni’s fans are seeing this day in the IPL for the first time.

Know how Chennai Super Kings can no longer make it to the playoffs?
Chennai Super Kings currently have 8 points in the IPL. Now even if she wins her remaining two matches, she will still have 12 points. On the other hand, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore are the three teams that have 14 points more than Chennai. Now the remaining teams of Kolkata, Punjab, Rajasthan and SunRajers Hyderabad are going to compete with each other and have more or equal points than Chennai. In such a situation, Chennai is out of the playoff race.

Chennai Superkings perform in every IPL season
The IPL was started in 2008 and Dhoni’s team traveled to the finals in the very first season. However, he had to face defeat in the final to Rajasthan Royals. In 2009, the Chennai team reached the semi-finals. After this, Chennai won their first IPL title in 2010. In 2011 also Dhoni’s team achieved the distinction of becoming champions for the second consecutive time. In 2012, Chennai Superkings was the runner-up and in 2013, they failed to win the final. In 2014, Chennai team was eliminated in the eliminator and in 2015 Chennai Super Kings was once again the runner up. Chennai team was suspended in 2016 and 2017 and with the return in 2018, Chennai won the IPL Trophy for the third time. In 2019, the Chennai team once again reached the final and lost the title match in Mumbai. But this time the journey of Chennai Superkings in 2020 ended in the group stage itself.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *