Banting, Zeider and Zegras nominated for NHL Rookie of the Year Award

MOSCOW, May 11 – Toronto Maple Leafs forward Michael Bunting, Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider and Anaheim Ducks forward Trevor Zegras are among the contenders for the Calder Trophy, the National Hockey League’s (NHL) rookie of the season, according to league official website.
Banting was the rookie’s top scorer with 63 points (23 goals and 40 assists), Zegras finished second (23 goals, 38 assists) and set the franchise record for points and assists in a rookie season. Zayder, with 50 points (7+43), became the third defender to score 50 or more points in his debut season in the last 30 years.
The award has been awarded since the 1936/37 season. The winner of the Calder Trophy will be selected by secret ballot of members of the NHL Sports Writers Association.
Last season, the winner of the award was the Russian Kirill Kaprizov of the Minnesota Wild. He became the seventh Russian to receive this prize, having previously been awarded to Pavel Bure, Sergei Samsonov, Evgeny Nabokov, Alexander Ovechkin, Evgeny Malkin and Artemy Panarin.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here