Pakistan’s 12-man squad announced for the first ODI against New Zealand

Posted By: | Posted On: Sep 16, 2021 | Posted In: Cricket

Pakistan’s 12-man squad has been announced for the first ODI against New Zealand (PAK vs NZ). The match will start at 3 pm Indian time on Friday. The match will be held in Rawalpindi. Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board had selected a total team of 20 members.

Uncapped wicketkeeper Mohammad Haris, pacers Mohammad Wasim and Shahnawaz Dahani and wrist spinner Zahid Mahmood have been included in the squad, while middle-order batsmen Iftikhar Ahmed and Khushdil Shah have also been included in the squad.

The second and third matches of the ODI series are also to be played in Rawalpindi. These matches will be played on 19 and 21 September respectively. After this the T20 series will start. The matches of the T20 series will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistan team for 1st ODI

Babar Azam (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood.

The task cannot be called easy for the Kiwi team on the home grounds of Pakistan. New Zealand’s recent performance in Bangladesh has also not been good. In such a situation, the Pakistani team can be considered as a favourite. However, playing on spin pitches can be said to be beneficial for both the teams as the T20 World Cup is to be played in the UAE in October.

Earlier, there have been some changes in the coaching staff of the Pakistani team. Head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and bowling coach Waqar Younis tendered their resignations as soon as the team for the T20 World Cup was announced. Saqlain Mushtaq and Abdul Razzaq have been appointed as the coaches for the series against New Zealand. Matthew Hayden and Vernon Philander have been appointed as coaches for the T20 World Cup as well under a temporary arrangement.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *