Press "Enter" to skip to content

West Indies announced the squad for England tour; three players refused to tour

Three West Indies players Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and Chemo Paul on Wednesday refused to go on a proposed three-Test tour of England next month. These matches will be held in a biologically safe environment amid the threat of the Covid-19 epidemic.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has declared a 14-member squad for the series and if the event gets the final approval of the UK government, then international cricket will start once again.

“Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and Chemo Paul have declined an invitation to go to England for the tour, and the CWI fully respects their decision,” the CWI said in a statement. CWI will not use this decision of the players against them while selecting the team in the future.

The board, however, did not give any specific reason for the withdrawal of these players. As part of a holistic medical and operational plan to protect players and staff, the West Indies team will stay, train, and play in a ‘biologically safe’ environment over the course of seven weeks. “The Coronavirus will be released this week to all people visiting The test will take place and his chartered plane is scheduled to leave for England on June 8.

The first Test of the series will be played from July 8 at the Agias Bowl in Hampshire and the remaining two Tests will be held at the Old Trafford ground in Lancashire where the stadium has hotels.

Old Trafford will host two Tests from 16 to 20 June and again from 24 to 28 June. The team includes two new faces in the form of middle-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and fast bowler Kemar Holder.

Chief selector Roger Harper expressed confidence that his team would be able to retain the Wisden Trophy.

The team is as follows:

Jason Holder, Craig Braithwaite, Shai Hope, Shane Daurich, Roston Chase, Shemar Brooks, Rahkim Cornwell, Nkrumah Bonner, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Holder, John Campbell, Ramon Reifer, Kemar Roach and Jermaine Blackwood.

Reserve player:

Sunil Ambareesh, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kion Harding, Kyle Meyers, Preston McSwein, Marquino Mindley, Shane Mosely, Anderson Phillip, Oshen Thomas and Jomel Warican.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *